News, Reviews, Features

Midweek PlayFist

Here’s our midweek spotify playfist, we’ve gone for a few classics.


1. Funkadelic – One Nation Under A Groove
2. Symarip – Skinhead Moonstomp
3. Booker T. & The MG’s – Green Onions
4. Mudhoney – Pump It Up
5. The Beat – Mirror In The Bathroom
6. Husker Du – Charity, Chastity, Prudence & Hope
7. Melvins – Skin Horse
8. The Boomtoom Rats – Dave
9. Yo La Tengo – I Was The Fool Beside You For Too Long
10. Primus – My Name Is Mud
11. Earl Brutus – Midland Red
12. The Bobby Fuller Four – I Fought The Law
13. Sepultura – Propaganda
14. The Who – The Seeker (BBC Session)
15. Tad – Grease Box

22/07/2009 Posted by | Music | Leave a comment

Years – Years

Years are the side project from Ohad Benchetrit of Broken Social Scene and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah! fame, and their self-titled album is one of the most intriguing and pleasurable listens of the year so far. Album opener ‘Kids Toy Love Affair’ is almost misleading with it’s swooping, almost operatic, dream like structure, before Don’t Let The Blind Go Deaf kicks in with it’s structured acoustics. Just as it comes to an end you start to wonder how much of this instrumental album you can take in one sitting.

Are You Unloved? then, takes a detour off the plain acoustics as samples are played backwards, cut up and chopped around with. It’s evident the man has taken a lot from Broken Social Scene as layers of noise slowly creep in over the chopped up music (which strangely sounds like Squarepusher on his quieter moments). All this before the album really picks up and the end of the song explodes in a cry of horns over melodic guitar work and cut up beats.

There are some genuinely touching moments on the record too. The powerful guitar works of Hey Cancer… Fuck You really does sound like it should soundtrack a feel good biopic, as it’s euphoric stuff.

A special mention must also be made to the real highlight of the album, The Major Lift. Strings and horns laden over more cut up acoustics and beats, more generally uplifting work. Whilst the way I’m describing this sounds like the album can be repetitive, it can be, but when music is generally this uplifting, I’m not complaining. Much.

All in all a sterling first solo effort and a fantastic collection of mellow (and occasionally loud) uplifting songs, let down by a slight sag in the middle and a tiny amount of repetition.


22/07/2009 Posted by | Music, Reviews | Leave a comment